

Infosys Technologies and NIAS Announce the Winner of the First 'Infosys Mathematics Prize'

Dr. Manindra Agrawal, IIT Kanpur wins cash award of Rs. 10 lakh for research in Complexity Theory

Bangalore, India – September 15, 2008: Infosys Technologies Ltd. (Infosys) and the National Institute of Advanced Studies (NIAS) today announced the first-ever winner of the Infosys Mathematics Prize. The winner of this prize for 2008 is Dr. Manindra Agrawal, N. Rama Rao Chair Professor in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering at the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Kanpur. Dr. Agrawal was chosen by a jury of eminent academicians (Annexure 1) from across the world and will be awarded Rs.10 lakh and a medal for his research in Complexity Theory.

The Infosys Mathematics Prize was jointly instituted by Infosys and NIAS earlier this year to encourage and foster an interest in mathematics. This prize is awarded to a nominated candidate who has made outstanding contributions - fundamental or applied - in any field of mathematics including the areas of pure mathematics, mathematical foundations of computer science and applied mathematics in natural, life and social sciences.

Dr. Manindra Agrawal has been awarded the Infosys Mathematics Prize for his outstanding work in Complexity Theory, the branch of mathematics concerned with the study of algorithms for solving mathematical and related scientific problems, especially their efficiency and running times. Dr. Agrawal is best known for the discovery of a deterministic polynomial time algorithm, for primality testing in his joint paper with his former students. This discovery resolved a long-standing problem of a fast test of primality, which had been the subject of intense study in the field of mathematics and computer science research.

"At Infosys, we firmly believe in strong industry-academia partnership for the advancement of academic research," said Mr. N R Narayana Murthy, Chairman and Chief Mentor, Infosys Technologies Ltd. "The Infosys Mathematics Prize recognizes contributions of extraordinary depth and influence to mathematical sciences. Infosys congratulates Dr. Agrawal on being awarded this prize and applauds his work. We hope that this award will reiterate the importance of mathematics across different sciences and encourage students to cultivate an interest in the subject."

Dr. K Kasturirangan, Director, NIAS said, "India has established programs in strategic areas like Atomic Energy, Defense, Space, IT and Meteorology. A strong base in mathematics is fundamental to advancement in all of these. Significantly, mathematics is increasingly finding applications in a number of new areas such as computer science, life sciences, social sciences, economics, etc. apart from traditional areas. The Infosys Mathematics prize is an important step in nurturing and encouraging academic research in areas critical to India's development as a scientific and economic power."

About National Institute of Advanced Studies (NIAS)

The National Institute of Advanced Studies (NIAS) was conceived and established by the vision and initiative of the late Mr. J.R.D Tata. He sought to create an institution which would conduct advanced research in multidisciplinary areas and also serve as a forum that will bring together eminent individuals from different walks of life, including administrators,



leaders in public affairs, industry and the academic community in natural and social sciences.

The objective of the Institute has been to nurture a broad base of scholars, managers and leaders who may contribute effectively to tackling the complex problems facing contemporary India with intelligence, sensitivity, confidence and dedication. The philosophy underlying NIAS is given shape by its research teams, which are drawn from a variety of disciplines in the natural and social sciences. The Institute is unique in its integrated approach to the study of intersections between science and technology, social issues and leadership.

NIAS is a (private) society registered on 20 June, 1988 under the Karnataka Societies Registration Regulation Act. It is located on the campus of the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore and was established in 1988 with Dr. Raja Ramanna as Director until his retirement in July 1997. Professor Roddam Narasimha was heading this Institute from August 1997 to March 2004. Dr. K Kasturirangan is currently the Director. The Institute is an autonomous organization governed by a council of management. For more information, visit http://www.nias.res.in

About Infosys Technologies Ltd.

Infosys (NASDAQ: INFY - News) defines, designs and delivers IT-enabled business solutions that help Global 2000 companies win in a Flat World. These solutions focus on providing strategic differentiation and operational superiority to clients. With Infosys, clients are assured of a transparent business partner, world-class processes, speed of execution and the power to stretch their IT budget by leveraging the Global Delivery Model that Infosys pioneered. Infosys has over 94,000 employees in over 40 offices worldwide. Infosys is part of the NASDAQ-100 Index. For more information, visit www.infosys.com.

For further information please contact:

North America	Asia Pacific
Daylan Burlison	Bani Paintal Dhawan
Infosys Technologies Ltd, USA	Infosys Technologies, India
Phone: 646 254 3141	Phone: 080 2852 2408
Daylan Burlison	Bani Paintal Dhawan
Australia	EMEA
Shyam Deshpande	Antonia Maneta
Infosys Technologies Australia	Infosys Technologies, UK
Phone : +61-3-9860-2547	Phone: +44 (0) 207 715 3499
Shyam Deshpande	Antonia Maneta



Annexure 1

Jury for the Infosys Mathematics Prize

S R Srinivasa Varadhan is the Chair of the Jury. Presently he is a Professor at Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences and Department of Mathematics, New York University. He was awarded the Abel Prize in 2007.

George C Papanicolaou is Robert Grimmett Professor of Mathematics, Department of Mathematics, Stanford University. He was awarded SIAM von Neumann Prize 2006.

Peter Clive Sarnak has been Eugene Higgins Professor of Mathematics at Princeton University. Sarnak was awarded the Polya Prize of Society of Industrial & Applied Mathematics in 1998, the Ostrowski Prize in 2001, the Levi L. Conant Prize in 2003 and the Frank Nelson Cole Prize in Number Theory in 2005.

Alain Bensoussan is a Distinguished Research Professor of Operations Management and Director of the International Center for Decision and Risk Analysis, University of Texas at Dallas. He was awarded Legion d' Honneur (Officier) 2003.

Shigefumi Mori is Professor in Research Institute for Mathematical Sciences, Kyoto University, Japan. He was awarded the Fields Medal in 1990 and AMS Cole Prize for Algebra in 1990.

M S Narasimhan was Professor of Mathematics at Tata Institute of Fundamental Research in Mumbai and Head of the Mathematics Section at ICTP, Trieste. He was co-winner of the King Faisal International Prize in 2006.