

Infosys Science Foundation Announces Winners of the Infosys Prize 2013

Increases the Prize Money to Rs. 55 Lakhs for Each Award Category

Bangalore - November 12, 2013: The Infosys Science Foundation today announced the winners of the Infosys Prize 2013 across six categories: Engineering & Computer Science, Humanities, Life Sciences, Mathematical Sciences, Physical Sciences and Social Sciences. The winners were recognized for their outstanding achievements and contributions to scientific research. The Infosys Science Foundation also announced an increase in the prize purse by Rs. 5 Lakhs to Rs. 55 Lakhs for each category for 2013. The prize for the Humanities category will be split equally between the two winners.

The seven winners were chosen based on significant progress showcased in their chosen spheres, as well as for the impact their research will have on the specific field. In addition to the prize purse, each category award includes a gold medallion and a citation certificate. The winners of the Infosys Prize 2013 were evaluated by a panel of jurors comprising eminent scientists and professors from around the world. The jury chairs of the six categories are: Prof. Pradeep K. Khosla, Engineering & Computer Science; Prof. Amartya Sen, Humanities; Dr. Inder Verma, Life Sciences; Prof. Srinivasa S. R. Varadhan, Mathematical Sciences; Prof. Shrinivas Kulkarni, Physical Sciences; and Dr. Kaushik Basu, Social Sciences.

The distinguished winners of the Infosys Prize 2013 are:

Engineering and Computer Science

Prof. Ramgopal Rao, Institute Chair Professor - Department of Electrical Engineering and Chief Investigator, Centre of Excellence in Nanoelectronics, Indian Institute of Technology, Mumbai

Humanities

- Archaeology
 - Prof. Nayanjot Lahiri, Professor Department of History, University of Delhi, New Delhi Linguistics
 - Prof. Ayesha Kidwai, Professor Centre for Linguistics, School of Language, Literature and Culture Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi

Life Sciences

Dr. Rajesh Gokhale, Director, Council of Scientific and Industrial Research - Institute of Genomics and Integrative Biology, New Delhi

Mathematical Sciences

Prof. Rahul Pandharipande, Professor - Department of Mathematics, Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule, Zürich (ETH Zurich)

Physical Sciences

Prof. Shiraz Naval Minwalla, Professor - Department of Theoretical Physics, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai and Member, School of Natural Sciences, Institute for Advanced Studies, New Jersey, USA

Social Sciences

Prof. Aninhalli R. Vasavi, Senior Fellow, Nehru Memorial Museum and Library, New Delhi

Mr. Srinath Batni, Member of the Board, Head of Delivery Excellence, Infosys, and President of the Board of Trustees, Infosys Science Foundation said, "I would like to



congratulate each and every one of the winners for the highly impressive achievements and individual contributions in their respective fields. Continuing its efforts to encourage and attract young minds towards science and research in the country, the Foundation has decided to increase the prize money from Rs. 50 Lakhs to Rs. 55 Lakhs with an aim to build a strong future in science, mathematics and humanities. Enabling winners, in our own small way, will hopefully help nurture the right ecosystem for others to pursue similar and important careers in the sciences."

Mr. N.R. Narayana Murthy, Founder, Executive Chairman of the Board, Infosys, and **Trustee, Infosys Science Foundation** said, "Science and Research are imperative pillars in any nation's progress. By honoring outstanding researchers and celebrating their achievements, the Infosys Prize aims to inspire young minds in India to explore the sciences and increase innovative work being done in the country today."

The award ceremony for the Infosys Prize 2013 will be held on February 8, 2014, in Bangalore, where **Dr. Kofi Atta Annan, Seventh Secretary-General of the United Nations** will felicitate the winners.

In its efforts to mainstream science, the Infosys Science Foundation continues to feature public talks by its laureates across the country. This year, Prof. Nandini Sundar, Prof. Sriram Ramaswamy, Prof. A. Ajayaghosh and Prof. Arunava Sen have delivered engaging talks as part of the **Infosys Science Foundation Lectures.** Recently, the Foundation also successfully organized the second edition of Limit Infinity, an inter-school festival aimed at fostering interest in science amongst school students, keeping Physics as the central theme for 2013.

About the Infosys Science Foundation

The Infosys Prize is awarded under the aegis of the Infosys Science Foundation, a not-forprofit trust set up in February 2009 by the management of the company. The Infosys Science Foundation is funded by a corpus which today stands at over INR 100 Crore (US\$ 18 million), contributed by the trustees and Infosys.

For more information, please visit www.infosys-science-foundation.com.

Follow Infosys Prize 2013 on E facebook You Tube

About Infosys

Infosys is a global leader in consulting, technology and outsourcing solutions. We enable clients, in more than 30 countries, to stay a step ahead of emerging business trends and outperform the competition. We help them transform and thrive in a changing world by cocreating breakthrough solutions that combine strategic insights and execution excellence.

Visit www.infosys.com to see how Infosys (NYSE: INFY), with \$7.4B in annual revenues and 160,000+ employees, is Building Tomorrow's Enterprise[®] today.

For further information please contact:

Asia Pacific	EMEA	Americas
Sarah Gideon	Paul de Lara	Ken Montgomery
Infosys, India	Infosys, UK	GolinHarris, USÁ
Phone: +91 80 41563373	Phone: +44 2075162748	Phone: +1 415.318.4399
Sarah_Gideon@infosys.com	Paul_deLara@infosys.com	KMontgomery@GolinHarris.com